Skip to content

µChat now open source!

July 16, 2011

I’m up in Seattle for my family’s yearly pancake eating contest/roadbowling/strawberry festival parade weekend, but I haven’t been able to set my computer down entirely. I got permission last week to go ahead and release the source for µChat, something that I’ve been pushing for ever since it was released (apps are just zip files, so it’s been essentially open the entire time). I think it’ll be a great opportunity for everyone to see what’s possible in terms of app development, and it’ll be a chance for people to teach me how to write javascript that doesn’t look like C code. Which brings me to my next point…

This is the first thing I’ve ever written in Javascript. Overall I’m pretty happy with how it performs, but I still shudder when I come across some of the code I wrote towards the beginning…as I’m sure you will. Be kind, and feel free to rewrite it! I’m hoping to do a pretty substantial rewrite to use backbone.js (something I’ve only become aware of recently…no one tells us C/C++ guys about the hot web stuff) in the future, which will really simplify the ui code.

So without further ado…I present to you, the source!

https://github.com/bittorrent/uchat/

You’re also going to want to grab a copy of the uTorrent Apps SDK if you’re planning on building the app…

http://www.utorrent.com/community/developers/appssdk

I’ll make sure to document this all much better when I’ve back to the Bay. Just wanted people to get a look at it as soon as possible. If you’re at all interested in contributing, shoot me an email/comment/etc and I’ll definitely go out of my way to get you started.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Knoss permalink
    July 16, 2011 6:59 pm

    Congratulations on releasing the source for µChat! Greetings from Reddit.

Leave a Reply

